Artists Making Portraits

Finding articles in JSTOR
You can search JSTOR with a simple keyword to begin with, then add additional keywords to narrow your search.  For example, start with a keyword like "Joyce"  You'll find that there are way too many results to go through, so edit your search and add a keyword like "self-image" or "portrait of the artist" to help narrow things down a bit.
 
Streaming Audio
American Song Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
An eclectic collection of music from Americans of diverse origins and all walks of life, from America’s past and present. The songs are by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. They touch topics as varied as Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. And the range of genres includes country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, shape note singing, doo-wop, Motown, R&B, soul, funk, and others.

Classical Music Library Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
A multi-label database of Classical music recordings.  Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.

Contemporary World Music Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
Streaming audio access to important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.  It includes a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from many labels throughout the world. The focus is concentrated on contemporary genres, such as fusion and world beat. Users can trace the history of a people's music by comparing the traditional styles with the modern interpretations offered in this database.  Liner notes to all the albums are included.

Database of Recorded American Music Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
A scholarly resource for recordings, including CD quality audio, liner notes and essays.  It contains a diverse catalogue of American music from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and beyond.

Jazz Music Library Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
A comprehensive collection of recordings covering thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.


Music Online: Premium Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Search across all Alexander Street Press music collections at once including African American Music Reference, Classical Music in Video, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Opera in Video.

Naxos Music Library Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
Streaming access to the largest online classical music collection.  Standard and rare repertoire is included as well as some jazz and world music recordings.


Smithsonian Global Sound Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
A comprehensive streaming audio collection of world music.  It currently provides streaming access to over 42,000 tracks from the Smithsonian archives and world music archives in Asia and Africa, and is growing regularly as new recordings are added. 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Emily Butler

Emily Butler
Assistant Librarian
Tel: 2157173123

Picture: Molly O'Brien

Molly O'Brien
Media Librarian
Tel: 2157173147

Picture: Michelle  Oswell

Michelle Oswell
Director of Library and Information Resources
Tel: 2157173121

Online Images
Use ARTstor to find images.  Images in ARTstor come from museums all over the world and can be searched by artist or theme (just to begin with)!

Artstor allows you to create and manage image groups. By creating a personal account, you can log in, search, and save images to your own folder for future reference. 
Grove
Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource
The full text of Grove Music Online (including Grove Dictionary of American Music and Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments as well as the Oxford Companion to Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Music).

 
Curtis Institute of Music Home | Intranet | Curtis Digital Showcase